Concealed Handgun Licensing and Motorcycle Safety.
Concealed Handgun Licensing
Concealed Handgun License Preparation in One Day
This course is designed for persons desiring qualification to obtain a permit to carry a concealed handgun. Course topics meet the requirements of the State of Texas. State law requires applicants pass a written test and demonstration of proficiency with the handgun. Necessary training materials and equipment are provided. Minimum age: 21 years. Student should register a minimum of 5 days in advance of the course date. Tuition fee includes weapon, target and ammunition. After successful completion of license class, student will complete the online license application and mail required documents along with the required fee for the license to Texas Department of Public Safety. THIS IS NOT A CLASS FOR SOMEONE WHO DOES NOT KNOW HOW TO SAFELY OPERATE AND FIRE A HANDGUN. It is recommended a student bring own handgun (unloaded) to class as student is more familiar with using their own equipment. Students should bring a light lunch or snack and beverage as there is not a designated/scheduled lunch break.
Courses are offered on the first Saturday of each month from 8:00am - 2:00pm
2014 Course Schedule:
April 5 / May 3 / June 7 / July 12 / August 2 / September 6 / October 4 / November 1 / December 6
Tuition: $95 + $25 Supply fee + $5 Technical fee = $125
NEW REGISTRATION STEPS: Follow steps to ACC Home Page or click on links below to the ACC Market Place.
• Go to www.alvincollege.edu
• Select Quick Links
• Select ACC Marketplace
• Select Concealed Handgun License
The class includes classroom instruction and hands-on, in-the-seat training in the use of controls and parts, smooth starts and stops, shifting gears, braking, turning and evasive maneuvers. To successfully complete the class, a participant must be present for the entire class; satisfactorily complete a written test at the end of the classroom session; and satisfactorily complete a skill evaluation consisting of the execution of various maneuvers in a safe and controlled manner. Successful completion of the class earns the participant a certificate that allows them to take the written portion of the motorcycle endorsement requirement and meets the state license mandate. Motorcycles and helmets are provided. The class is conducted rain or shine. Proper protective gear is required (helmet, eye protection, long sleeves, long pants, full-fingered gloves, and over-the-ankle footwear). For more information, visit the course website: www.mscourse.net.
Note: Students under the age of 18 will be required to submit both the “Consent to Treat a Minor” and the‘Texas Waiver and Student Information” forms with a parent of guardian’s signature.
To download the Consent to Treat form, click here.
To download the Texas Waiver and Student Information form, click here.
To download the Texas Department of Public Safety Motorcycle Operator’s Manual, click here.
Experienced Rider Motorcycle Safety
The Experienced Rider course is designed for riders who already have basic skills. It is similar to the basic course except the class is designed for riders already possessing basic skills. Students use their personal motorcycle. This course can provide a good way to get used to carrying a passenger as passengers are allowed. Low speed maneuvers and techniques for turning, braking, surmounting obstacles, and risk management are addressed. Student must have a street legal motorcycle with a valid driver’s license and insurance. Proper protective gear is required (helmet, eye protection, long sleeves, long pants, full-fingered gloves, and over-the-ankle footwear). The class does not qualify for license waiver; the basic course must be taken to meet that particular requirement. It is recommended that a student have several thousand miles of riding experience and be comfortable in the control and handling of their personal motorcycle. Refunds are not given to students unable to complete the course. For more information, visit the course website: www.mscourse.net
Course No. Date(s) Time Day Room Instructor
CEMCSE 1000 AC08 03/29/14 - 03/30/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC09 04/12/14 - 04/13/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC10 04/17/14 - 04/18/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM THF H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC11 04/19/14 - 04/20/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC12 04/26/14 - 04/27/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC13 05/10/14 - 05/11/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC14 05/15/14 - 05/16/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM THF H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC15 05/17/14 - 05/18/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC16 05/24/14 - 05/25/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
CEMCSE 1000 AC17 05/31/14 - 06/01/14 07:30AM - 04:30PM SSU H127 R Ruiz
Fee(s): Tuition $200.00 Online Registration for SPRING ONLY Courses
Upcoming SUMMER Classes:
See SUMMER ONLY course dates and REGISTRATION information on ACC Marketplace!
To learn more about the ACC Motorcycle Safety courses, you may
email: Raymond Ruiz at email@example.com