Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web

You are here  >  News2

ACC News Portal


Top News Rotator

Press Releases

Thursday, April 27, 2017

ACC Inducts New PTK Members

ACC Inducts New PTK Members

There are four main elements of developing leadership skills: self awareness, self management, social awareness and relationship management.

“You need to know your strengths and you need to know your limitations,” said Dr. Stephanie Havemann, ACC Biology instructor and president of the ACC Teachers Association . “I want to challenge you to become a leader.”

Havemann was the guest speaker for the April 18 induction ceremony for the  Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at ACC.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.  Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963.

Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

“This chapter is highly distinguished,” ACC President Dr. Christal M. Albrecht said at the ceremony. “Those of you who are being inducted should be proud to be a part of this organization.”

Havemann urged the new inductees to cultivate their personal leadership skills and to use them once they join the workforce.

“Trust yourself and your instincts,” she said. “Be transparent with yourself. Live the values and exude them in all you do.”

Leaders also should be keen to listen to others and help them achieve their goals.

“Embody what you expect from others,” Havemann said. “To be a good leader you have to be empathetic.”

The newest members are: Cristina Ayres, Cynthia Cisneros, Anahi Altamirano, Kaylah Angel, Jessie Arce, Rosa Barron, Kathryn Bell, Savon Blanchard, Taylor Broussard, Ruth Brown, Kamden Burke, Bridget Byrd, Levi Charland, Rachel Christodoss, Kaitlyn Dahlstrom, Cody Dewar, Katherine Dillard, Jennifer Dillon, Amber Eastham, Esther Erfan, Jennifer Fakharizadeh, Clinton Fewell, Jolee Galetka, Brooklyn Garza, Victor Gostomski, Kaelin Greak, Jennifer Harris, Heather Harvey, Jonathan Hirsch, Jared Holston, Ty Johnson, Clarence Johnson, Jane Kasinga, Taylor Kelley, Binumon Kunjappan, Berenice Marquez, Sharline McClendon, Thanh Nguyen, Luke Olson, Nikki Ondrus, Michael Ortiz, Rumaldo Padilla, Brandi Peck, Maxx Pizzitola, Mia Provenzano, James Rannik, Courtney Roeckel, Amber Rushing, Michael Saladiner, Cynthia Sanders, Harrison Sauter, Sarah Shirdon, Ashley Slaughter, Jerrod South, Amy Stahl, Victoria Tacquard, James Thompson, Ariana Torrez, Jason Tyler, Victoria Van Hook, Delores Vanhoose, Sharee Walker, Jessica Willis, Taylor Wilson, Arielle Woodruff and Sarah Yan.



Campus Events Calendar

EasyDNNnews TagCloud

News Search

Latest News