Select the search type
  • Site
  • Web
Search



You are here  >  Speech



Speech

The Alvin Community College Speech Department’s goal is to prepare each student with the ability to communicate in a variety of contexts in the ever-changing business, professional, and personal settings. The department does this by providing the student with the tools to effectively communicate interpersonally, publicly, professionally, and in group settings.

Speech Courses

1315 Public Speaking
Application of communication theory and practice to the public speaking context, with emphasis on audience analysis, speaker delivery, ethics of communication, cultural diversity, and speech organizational techniques to develop students’ speaking abilities, as well as ability to effectively evaluate oral presentations.

1318 Interpersonal Communication
Application of communication theory to interpersonal relationship development, maintenance, and termination in relationship contexts including friendships, romantic partners, families, and relationships with co-workers and supervisors.

1321 Business and Professional Communication
Study and application of communication within the business and professional context. Special emphasis will be given to communication competencies in presentations, dyads, teams and technologically mediated formats.

2335 Argumentation and Debate
Theory and practice in argumentation and debate including analysis, reasoning, organization, strategy, and refutation.

See the course catalog for complete course descriptions.


Full-Time Faculty

Earnest Burnett, II Ed.D
Room: B230
Office: 281-756-3613
Eburnett@alvincollege.edu

Maria Starling
Room: B201
Office: 281-756-5683
Mstarling@alvincollege.edu

Bill Waggoner, Ph.D (Department Chair)
Room: B231
Office: 281-756-3612
Bwaggoner@alvincollege.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Sara Mangat
Smangat@alvincollege.edu

Charlotte Washington
cwashington@alvincollege.edu

Nakia Welch
nwelch@alvincollege.edu 

Contact Us:

Bill Waggoner, Ph.D
(Department Chair)/Faculty
Office: B-231
Phone: 281-756-3612
Email: bwaggoner@alvincollege.edu
speech@alvincollege.edu

Contact Us

Main Campus

Address: 3110 Mustang Road, Alvin, TX 77511
Telephone: (281) 756-3500
Email: info@alvincollege.edu

Continuing Education Workforce Development (CEWD)

Telephone: (281) 756-3787
Email: cewd@alvincollege.edu

facebook twitter youtube flickr Instagram Logo Google+ Logo