Press Releases - News Center

ACC Phi Theta Kappa Induction

The Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted its newest members during a ceremony on April 28.

Seventeen students were honored during the ceremony for their academic achievements. Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges. 

ACC President Dr. Robert J. Exley joined Phi Theta Kappa while he was in college and also served as the national president of the organization. He spoke to the graduates about how Phi Theta Kappa benefits students.

“We provide encouragement and we find a way to connect people,” said Exley, who is also a member of Phi Theta Kappa’s Hall of Honor. “Phi Theta Kappa did that for me in a way you cannot imagine.”

Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

Guest speaker for the induction was Laura DuPress, who is the coordinator for Texas District IV of Phi Theta Kappa. Joining the organization not only connected her with fellow members it also helped make her a better student, she said.

“I took advantage of opportunities to learn leadership skills and to improve my study skills,” she said. “Because of Phi Theta Kappa, other doors opened for me. If you want your life to be changed get involved. Phi Theta Kappa changed my life.”

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963. Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

The members who were inducted are: Natalie Nicole Aguilar, Paige Elise Anderson, Jasmine Augustine Bagley, Julianna Jean Bessire, Ansley Kate Chappell, Jamie Lynn Justice Davis, Celeste Arianna Gonzales, Unique Dejuan Grosenheider, Alise Shayleen Jordan, Thomas Christopher Lambert, Crystal Nicole Lewis, Kindra Alexis Lobo, Ashley Nicole McConathy, Marisela Efijenia Moncado, Cara Elizabeth Morris, Marian Joe Mucino, Angelice Nicole Smith and Brittney Rene Turnquist.

The new officers for the chapter were also sworn in including: President Cara Elizabeth Morris, Vice President of Leadership Jasmine Augustine Bagley, Vice President of Scholarship Angelice Nicole Smith and Vice President of Service Alise Shayleen Jordan.