Press Releases - News Center

ACC PTK Induction Ceremony

The Mu Upsilon chapter of Phi Theta Kappa at Alvin Community College held its Spring induction ceremony on February 23.

The chapter inducted 25 new members during the ceremony. Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges. 

Joining the organization is an important milestone in a student’s life because it can enhance their college experience, ACC President Dr. Robert J. Exley said during the event.

“It changed everything about what I believed was possible,” he said. “It was because of Phi Theta Kappa I was able to do things I’d never done before.”

Dr. Exley joined Phi Theta Kappa while he was in college and also served as the national president of the organization.

Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above. Research has shown members of Phi Theta Kappa have a 91 percent success rate in college.

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963. Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

The new members are: Amanda Blake, Anahi Cantu, Erin Elizabeth Ceja-Boren, Alli Davis, Lorelei Dodson, Laci Dorsett, Jessica Duran, Sonya Emmert, Baeleigh Evans, Sophia Gabot, Kaelyn Guzman, Nadia Gotcher, Gabriella Griffith, Bianca Hinojosa, Kaleb Holston, Sydney Kanyara, Leanna Lewis, Isabella Montalvo, Beatrice Moreno, Erika Ortega, Amanda Ortiz, Amber Lynn Rehlinger, Carina Rivera, Taneea Rodriguez and Christopher Smallwood.