Press Releases - News Center

ACC Phi Theta Kappa Inducts New Members

The Alvin Community College Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa honored its Spring 2021 inductees during a virtual ceremony on April 1.

Guest speaker for the event was Susan Edwards, Phi Theta Kappa’s associate vice president Honors Programming and Undergraduate Research. Edwards shared the abundant resources available to Phi Theta Kappa members. She encouraged students to further develop their abilities in the classroom, the workforce and in the community.

“We hope you stay connected with us,” Edwards said. “We take very serious your development as a Phi Theta Kappa student. We would like to celebrate all of your incredible talents and academic excellence.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.  Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963. Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

The Mu Upsilon chapter is a five-star rated chapter. At the recent state Phi Theta Kappa convention,  Mu Upsilon chapter was also recognized for its Honors in Action and College Projects. Mu Upsilon President Amanda Fowler was named the state's Most Distinguished Chapter Officer. Officers Isabella Alvarez, Emily Schexnaider and Phi Theta Kappa advisor Keith Vyvial were named to the District IV Hall of Honor.

“Becoming a member of this chapter opens several doors,” ACC President Dr. Christal M. Albrecht said. “Inductees you are indeed joining a very prestigious group of peers.”

The new inductees are: Estefany Almanza, Jessica Anoira, Marissa Arredondo, Anthony Benavides, Ryan Boss, Ashley Cassady, Jeana Clinger, Kace' Conaway, Cherlyn Crawford, Elizabeth Cuero, Samantha Davis, Victoria Engle, Robert Evans, Deja Fowler, Andrew Hampton, Mikaela Hinojosa, Thao Hoang, Modupe Iyun, Paige Kitchens, Brooke Koons, Mariah Mcvey, Sarah Nance, Francisco Naranjo, Kyndal Nguyen, Sherry Preston, Savannah Rakowitz, Sarah Resma, Jamie Richardson, Oscar Rojo, Nicole Rubio, Gabriel Salazar, Kaylee Shelton, Weston Siemens, Danielle Smith, Shelby Smith, Melinda Stowell, William Tomaro, Morgan Townsend, Valerie Trevino, Esmerelda Villanueva, Gabriela Weakley, Lexie Williams, April Wischnewsy, Ellie Woods, Grace Zepeda.