Press Releases - News Center

ACC PTK Inducts New Members

The Alvin Community College Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 51 new members for the Fall 2021.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.  Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963. Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

The Mu Upsilon chapter is a five-star rated chapter. ACC Phi Theta Kappa advisor Ketih Vyvial was also recognized by the organization recently for serving five years as an advisor at the college

The new inductees are: Athena Mae Chiu Alimon, James Bailey, Whitney Barham, Lamont Bennett, Laura Boisard, James W. Bransom IV, Krista Bryan, Amanda Chadwick, Rachel Chavarria, Natalie Cooper, Courtland Cosco, Erin Courville, Kennedy Dann, Jacki Doyle, Stephanie Elmore, Christopher Eustace, Torie Flemming, Paloma Garcia, Melisa Garza, Shelby Gast, Audrey George, Tristin Gonzales, Nicole Goodman, Zoe Grimes, Andrew Haltiwanger, Jessica Hunter, Abigail Johnson, James Johnson, Amber Jordan, Ybett Landaverde, Kiana Lang, Hannah J Langlais, Kevin Le, Mikara Lloyd, Austin Marschke, Cameron McReynolds, Lavonna Miller, Alysa Miranda, Matthew Mireles, Sarah Mccallon, Laura Moss, Marley Ochoa, Ifeoma Onyimadu, Hannah Orrenmaa, Olivia Ortiz, Loretha Page, Allison Perez, Celena Rivers, Natalie Seeley, Tina Sisneros and Kensey Wells.