Press Releases - News Center

ACC Phi Theta Kappa Holds Virtual Induction Ceremony

The Alvin Community College Mu Upsilon Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa inducted 43 new members for the Spring 2022.

Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.  Members follow four hallmarks, including scholarship, leadership, service and fellowship.  To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa, students must have completed at least 12 college credit hours at ACC and maintained a grade point average of 3.5 or above.

Keynote speaker for the event was Ashley Winslow, 2021-22 Phi Theta Kappa president for Texas District IV.

“Tonight is only the beginning of your Phi Theta Kappa story,” she said. “You have all shown extraordinary academic excellence.”

ACC President Dr. Robert J. Exley talked about being a member of Phi Theta Kappa and the hard work that it takes to become inducted into the honors society.

“Phi Theta Kappa was a signature event in my life,” said ACC President Dr. Robert J. Exley. “You are part of a stellar group of academics and scholars. I challenge each one of you to accept the mantle of being a leader. ”

More than 4,000 ACC students have been inducted into Phi Theta Kappa since the ACC Mu Upsilon Chapter was created in 1963. Students in Phi Theta Kappa will participate in community projects and research projects during their time in the organization.

The Mu Upsilon chapter is a five-star rated chapter. ACC Phi Theta Kappa advisor Ketih Vyvial was also recognized by the organization recently for serving five years as an advisor at the college

The new inductees are: Rosalyn Azar, Zoe Beck, Alexandra Chhim, Natalie Contreras, Thanh Dang, Dylan Dreyfus, Constance Fewell, Michelle Fowlie, Abigail Garza, Shelby Gast, Sarah Gilliland, Kali Hardy, Krista Harris, Jeremy Hathaway, Isabele Hegele, Jennifer Heidorn, Corley Hodde, William Holzhausen, Madison Hunter, Alise Jordan, Edward Klein, Sofia Loera, Marianna Murchison, Tram Nguyen, Marleyna Ochoa, Rebecca Omenukor, Rachael Onwukwe, Ada Palmer, Joshin Perakattu, Ashleigh Prince, Nepha Ramclam, Ann Rodrigues, Cassandra Ruiz, Emilia Salas, Christopher Smith, Sebastian Soliz, Blanca Soto, Jackson Spencer, Brett Tisdale, Philiya Varghese, Samantha Watkins, Tara Woods and Rogelio Zuniga.